Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers | Turon at Lugaw

Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers (Tutorial)

I love stickers. I love them as much as I love notebooks. But I don’t collect them as much. That’s because I can’t seem to find stickers that I really want to use. I’m not an elementary school student anymore–I don’t like Sanrio stickers as much as I used to.

I love the Keep Calm and Carry On design. But I can’t seem to find nice ones. So I figured, why not create my own stickers? Since I already own my own print and business center, I could always print my own.

See those sticker prints above? I made them! I’m no graphic designer, but thanks to Keep Calm-O-Matic and PicMonkey, they were easy to make!

But first, here’s a little bit of trivia about this design: The Keep Calm and Carry On motivational posters were developed by the British government before the Second World War to keep the country’s morale. They were not widely distributed and was little known–until they were rediscovered and re-issued in 2000. Now it’s a popular design/meme movement, of which I am a fan of.

There are quite a few Keep Calm generators online. You can run a Google search and you’ll find a lot of them. My favorite, though, is the Keep Calm-O-Matic.

Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers | Turon at Lugaw

Most online generators allow you to customize the text and graphics. I just changed the text, chose a logo, chose a background color and text color, and hit “Generate My Poster.” Here are some of the designs I’ve made:

Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers | Turon at Lugaw Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers | Turon at Lugaw Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers | Turon at Lugaw Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers | Turon at Lugaw Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers | Turon at Lugaw

What I enjoy about Keep Calm-O-Matic is that you can use a patterned or graphic background! I love their collection of digital scrapbook paper; but you can also use your own. You can even upload your own photos as background. Here are some of what I’ve come up with using their patterned background:

Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers | Turon at Lugaw 2014.04.21 1 Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers | Turon at Lugaw

Once I had enough designs, I went on to PicMonkey to lay out my sticker sheet using its Collage tool.

Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers | Turon at Lugaw

I choose the 5X5 Square Deal, but re-sized it to 2472 X 3400 pixels to fit into A4 sticker paper. Technically, an A4 sheet in pixel size is roughly 2475 X 3507, but PicMonkey only allows until 3400 pixels.

Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers  Turon at Lugaw

I filled up each box with the designs I made.

Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers | Turon at Lugaw

The stickers come out to about 1.5″ X 2.3″ each. Here’s how it looks like when you completely lay them all out:

Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers | Turon at Lugaw

The size is a little larger than I initially expected. If you want them smaller than what I had made, you can add another column and row, or two, to change the dimensions. To do so, simple drag the design onto the next row or column.

Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers | Turon at Lugaw

Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers | Turon at Lugaw

The 6X7 collage produces 1.38″X 1.67″ sized stickers.

Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers | Turon at Lugaw

Here are some of the finished designs I printed. You can print on either matte or glossy sticker paper. I prefer using glossy over matte, but that’s just my preference.

Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers | Turon at Lugaw

You can use these stickers for scrapbooks and smash books. You can also use them as gift or favor tags–or even as labels. I used the Keep Calm theme for a bridal shower I organized years ago and I liked how that turned out. The theme would also be nice for baby showers or weddings.

If you don’t like the Keep Calm theme or want to develop your own sticker design, you can use PicMonkey’s other tools to help you make your own. That tutorial, however, is reserved for another blog–so watch out!

Do you have a sticker project to share? Let me know and comment below!

2 thoughts on “Keep Calm and Make Your Own Stickers (Tutorial)

Leave a Reply

