May the 4th be with you

No, we’re not huge Star Wars fans. Yes, I’m being sarcastic.

This blog is about anything and everything about Star Wars. I’m sharing sources of free printables, too!

May the 4th Be With You | Turon at Lugaw

I love the original Star Wars Trilogy. It was a huge part of my childhood. I don’t remember a time when I didn’t watch the entire trilogy at least once a year as a kid. My dad was such a fan. He would set up the entertainment system during Holy Week so we would have the surround sound experience.

We sadly don’t have this tradition anymore. It’s been some time since I last saw it in its entirety. Perhaps, I should follow Barney, Ted and Marshall’s Trilogy Time tradition every 3 years. It would be great to introduce Star Wars to the Daughter. It would be such a lost if she didn’t at least watch the first trilogy at least once!

 

Free Star Wars Printables

When the Daughter is a little older, I’ll have her do these cute and cool preschool activity sheets! I found them online and they’re FREE. I found two! This one’s from Hazen’s Home and School:

May the 4th Be With You | Turon at Lugaw | Star Wars Preschool Printables Hazen Home and School

While this one is from Home School Creations:

May the 4th Be With You | Turon at Lugaw | Star Wars Preschool Printables Home School Creations

Both are really cute and worth printing for your little preschooler. You can also probably print some of the images on sticker paper to make stickers or tags.

I also found these digital prints online. The Darth Vader print is from Fox’s Tale.

May the 4th Be With You | Turon at Lugaw | May the 4th be with you

As a fan of the Keep Calm posters, I find this print from Andrew Pitchford pretty awesome.

May the 4th Be With You | Turon at Lugaw | Calm You Shall Keep and Carry On You Must yes, Hmmmm

Maybe it’s time for another sticker project?

 

Star Wars Toys and Collectibles

The Husband and I continue to be drawn to anything Star Wars. A visit to my favorite Divisoria suki got me this cute Mighty Muggs Darth Vader. I don’t know if it is authentic, but my novice eye makes me believe that it’s either a really good copy or a factory reject. The set lacks the cape and the helmet, but I don’t mind. It didn’t cost me a pretty penny.

May the 4th Be With You | Turon at Lugaw | Star Wars Mighty Muggs Darth Vader

This is Wave 2 of the Darth Vader Mighty Muggs figure. The figure itself has 2 faces. One with Anakin’s face and the reverse with Darth Vader’s mask.  Amazon lists it at $11.49 plus shipping. My suki has other characters available, such as the Snowtrooper, Captain Rex, and Chewbacca. There are others, but my memory fails me now. I might get the Snowtrooper when we visit next, if it’s still available.

I’m also thinking about getting the Funko Pop Darth Vader figure. Yes, I seem to be a Darth Vader fan. While many are drawn to Yoda or R2D2, I seem to be always drawn to him. Not a fan of Anakin Skywalker of the prequels, though.

Moving on.

Other Divisoria-sourced Star Wars toys include these Lego-like bricks, that come in packs of 6 or 8. And no Darth Vader in sight. Not even R2D2.

May the 4th Be With You | Turon at Lugaw | Minifigures

These are  widely available in Divisoria. The Husband bought it primarily for its novelty. That said, you can tell that they’re fakes with closer inspection. They’re nice to play with, and definitely wallet-friendly. I bought a lot of these minifigures as loot bag stuffers for the Daughter’s first birthday last year. The kids loved it and the parents didn’t mind buying more of these sets when their kids didn’t get to complete the sets. They are so inexpensive nobody feels bad if any of the pieces are misplaced.

Brick manufacturers have also released mini vehicle sets, similar to the Star Wars Planets by Lego.

May the 4th Be With You | Turon at Lugaw | Star Wars Bom Bom Bricks

The build experience is nice and the quality is OK. The sets, though, don’t follow the exact color scheme as the original.

May the 4th Be With You | Turon at Lugaw | Star Wars Lego Planets versus Star Wars Bom Bom

The Husband has only built the fake bricks we’ve bought from Divisoria. He has yet to open the original Lego sets he’s bought. I think the reason why he’s been buying the fakes is so that he can experience the build–without harming his original Legos. He’s very careful with handling his original Lego sets. I guess, with these fake sets, he’s found an ingenious way of having his cake and eating it, too.

The Husband continues to amass Star Wars Lego sets. While he was kind enough to give me limited access, I was only able to take photos of his X-Wing Starfighter and Y-Wing Starfighter sets.. Many of the bigger and more popular sets (including the Death Star I, Millenium Falcon and R2D2, among others) are safely kept in a plastic box wrapped in cling wrap. Did I mention that he’s pretty OC about his toys?

May the 4th Be With You | Turon at Lugaw | Star Wars Lego X-Wing Starfighter

May the 4th Be With You | Turon at Lugaw | Star Wars Lego Y-Wing Starfighter

As you can see, they’re still in their sealed and unopened boxes.

 

PHLUG Brickfast

Got to attend my first Brickfast organized by the Philippine Lego Users Group! Lots of Star Wars displays.

May the 4th Be With You | Turon at Lugaw | PHLUG Brickfast

 

Star Wars Jewelry

The coolest Star Wars inspired object I have seen online is this beautiful TIE the Knot Engagement Ring by Paul Michael Designs. Personally, I don’t think I’d want to wear it as an engagement ring. That said, I also wouldn’t mind the Husband getting it for me!

May the 4th Be With You | Turon at Lugaw | TIE the Knot Engagement Ring by Paul Michael Designs

 

Star Wars Episode VII Cast!

Yep, they announced it already! Lots of articles online, but this one from io9 is the most interesting.

May the 4th Be With You | Turon at Lugaw | Star Wars Episode VII Cast

 

How about you? What cool Star Wars stuff do you have to share?

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

