Make Your Own Name Stickers (Tutorial)

Growing up, my mom always made my notebook and book labels. In college, I loved having them made. But because of PicMonkey, I now make my own.

Making your own name label stickers is easy. What I’ve come up is one that produces 72 name labels on a regular sheet of A4-sized sticker paper. I don’t use the Avery system because I prefer working with a regular sticker paper. While it does take some time to cut (plus, it does require steady hands), I find that I’m able to maximize the sticker sheet.

This is a straightforward tutorial–as easy as my other sticker project. It involves only 3 major steps: (1) design your name label, (2) create a collage, and (3) print!

 

Create your design

Go to PicMonkey.com. Hover over the Design widget and choose Custom.

Design Your Own Name Labels With PicMonkey | Turon at Lugaw

This will prompt you to indicate pixel size. To maximize the sticker sheet, I use a 600 pixel by 179. I’ve experimented with a lot of dimensions, but this one works best for me–at least, for now.

Design Your Own Name Labels With PicMonkey | Turon at Lugaw

To make it easy for me to cut the stickers individually later on, I add a Simple Edge (Outer thickness: 2; Inner thickness: 0).

Design Your Own Name Labels With PicMonkey | Turon at Lugaw

But here’s a tip, and this is important. Adding the line will throw your dimensions off by a few pixels. So make sure that you go back and check to see that you’re working on a 600X179 pixel image. You can do this by going to Basic Edits and choosing Resize.

Once you’ve got the right dimensions, you can now start designing your name label. For this tutorial, I’m choosing to do a simple widget + name design. I chose a cute purple butterfly from the Overlay menu.

Design Your Own Name Labels With PicMonkey | Turon at Lugaw

I don’t have a Royal account, so my choice of fonts is somewhat limited. But not to worry, because the free fonts are cute, too! For this, I chose the Lobster Two font. I also chose to use the same color as the purple butterfly. PicMonkey indicates the hex color codes, which leaves out the guess work.

Design Your Own Name Labels With PicMonkey | Turon at Lugaw

Tweak your design and then save.

Design Your Own Name Labels With PicMonkey | Turon at Lugaw

 

Create your collage

Once you’ve got your design, you can now create a collage.

Design Your Own Name Labels With PicMonkey | Turon at Lugaw

600 pixels is about 2 inches. On an A4 sheet, you can lay out 4 of these across. I start my collage with a 4X4 collage.

Design Your Own Name Labels With PicMonkey | Turon at Lugaw

I change the dimensions to 2475 by 3400 pixels. Remember that each inch is about 300 pixels. The length of an A4 paper is about 11.69 inches, but PicMonkey only allows to about 3400 pixels lengthwise.

Design Your Own Name Labels With PicMonkey | Turon at Lugaw

Autofill the cells with your design. After that, you’ll need to manually insert your design into the collage until you come up with a collage that is 4 across and 18 down.

Design Your Own Name Labels With PicMonkey | Turon at Lugaw

Once done, save your work.

2014.06.03 12 Design Your Own Name Labels With PicMonkey  Turon at Lugaw

 

Print your design

Note that the dimensions I use don’t account for your printer settings. Some printers, like mine, allow borderless printing. I did, however, try printing with the default printing borders and I didn’t see any problem. For this collage, the print comes out like this:

Design Your Own Name Labels With PicMonkey | Turon at Lugaw

Notice that the horizontal edges don’t show up in the collage. I was able to remedy that by changing the inside margins. In the end, however, I prefer that they didn’t show up because this makes it easier for me to cut without the edges showing. To produce clean stickers, cut through the stickers horizontally first, then vertically, and finally trimming off the edges to make it nice and clean.

I prefer printing my stickers on glossy paper, but the colors are much more vivid on matte. It’s really a preference, and you’ll have to experiment on which one suits you best.

There are lots of possibilities with this project. You can even make gift tags, or even binder and index labels for your file organization. Let me know how it goes if you try this yourself. Would love to hear from you!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

